The Experiment Continued, Part 2

So my hard-boiled subscription series has been running for seven months now. Twenty-one yarns’ worth. I’ve got just a handful of subscribers. But there is some traction, as they say. A little coverage here, a bit of coverage there. Things are heating up. Like luke-warm mud. Sure.

Got a nice blurb from Crime Fiction Lover. And The Thrilling Detective. And a very nice link from “Peggy Ann’s Post.” Then Brazill asked to write up a guest blog. There sure are some gracious folk out there.

And I’ve been writing everyone and their mother with a remotely related blog or site. The media, too. I haven’t heard back from The New York Times, yet, but that’s okay.

In the meantime, I’ve got a couple readings lined up, too. And plenty of queries along those lines.

So I’m keeping my arms up and I’m swinging away. Hour by hour, day by day, week by week. Fighting my own, private, little, good fight. Just like a million other stories in the naked city.

I’ll tell you what gets me, what throws me for a loop, what really leaves me hanging. I’m convinced my audience is out there, plenty of readers ready to drink up my take on old-school, detective fiction. If I can only track them down. If only I can find them.

What I’d really like to do is give away a thousand subscriptions. Maybe a couple thousand. Sure. That would spread the word. And then, of course, each one of those subscribers could be approached for a renewal or a gift subscription.

But even giveaways aren’t easy. Reaching a qualified audience and pitching them ain’t no cinch. But I’m working on it. I’m working on it like a dog works on a fresh bone.

I guess we’re all mad scientists in our own way. Tweaking. Experimenting. Sure.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

